Menu Close

What happens to files when you delete them?

What happens to files when you delete them?

When you delete a file from a standard desktop computer, the file first gets moved to the “recycle bin” or the “trash,” which means only that you’ve placed the intact data in a new directory. You erase the file when you empty your recycle bin. But even then, much of the information remains on the hard disk.

Does deleting a file actually delete it?

When you delete a file from your computer, it doesn’t simply disappear from existence—at least, not right away. Even if you immediately empty the Recycle Bin or Trash folder, all your deletion does is earmark the space that file takes up on your hard drive as vacant.

Where do files go when you delete them?

The file will stay in your trash for 30 days before being automatically deleted. If you’re the owner of the file, others can view it until you permanently delete the file. If you’re not the owner, others can see the file even if you empty your trash. On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Drive app.

When you delete a file it is always gone?

Remember, though, that when you delete a file or folder in Windows, it’s not really gone. It’s removed to the Recycle Bin. Windows periodically purges older files from the Recycle Bin, but if you change your mind about a file or folder you deleted, you may still be able to retrieve them.

Where do pictures go after you permanently delete them?

When you choose delete a notice tells you the photo will be deleted from all of your devices. Your photo will disappear from view then and there. But it is not truly gone. Instead, the image is sent to the Recently Deleted album in the Photos app where it remains for 30 days.

Does deleting from the Recycle Bin permanently delete?

When you delete a file from your computer, it moves to the Windows Recycle Bin. You empty the Recycle Bin and the file is permanently erased from the hard drive. Until the space is overwritten, it is possible to recover the deleted data by using a low-level disk editor or data-recovery software.

Does empty Recycle Bin really delete?

Once you empty your recycle bin, the content is gone forever, unless you saved it on an external hard drive or the cloud. Emptying the recycle bin on your computer can help to free up some hard drive space.

Will Defrag permanently delete files?

Does defragging delete files? Defragging does not delete files. Some software programs, especially those made and sold by third-party companies, may include defragging as part of an overall maintenance program, and this program may include deleting temporary files or duplicate files.

Is Recycle Bin safe to delete?

You can delete it if you are an admin user, but Windows will recreate it once you delete some more files on the same drive. IMPORTANT: The following procedure permanently deletes all files and folders which are already in the Recycle Bin (from all user accounts in the system) and cannot be recovered.